Quilting · The Splendid Sampler · Uncategorized

The Splendid Sampler

By now you’ve no doubt seen all the posts about 2016’s biggest quilting event . . . The Splendid Sampler. Created by Pat Sloan and Jane Davidson, this will be a year=long adventure of learning new things, discovering new designers & creating a fabulous quilt.

The Splendid Sampler Sew Along big button

If you haven’t signed up to follow along, go do that right now! I’ll wait.

I sent off my finished block weeks ago & it will debut later this year.

But, starting February 14, I’ll be sewing along with many of the other designers and many of you.

When I first talked to Pat & Jane about sewing along, I told them I wanted to do something fresh & fun. I was so excited when I opened my mail one day & found this:

tags

Anyone that follows my design work in magazines or my books or patterns knows that I’m a firm believer in “why use one fabric, when you can use fifty?” While I love a coordinated bundle as much as the next guy or gal, what I love even more is pulling out fabrics from several bundles & seeing how they play together.

So, I untied those bundles (Isn’t that always the most painful part?) and started laying fat quarters out on my table.

From Serenity, I pulled these:

serenity

From Aria, these prints made my cut:

aria

And, from Behind the Scenes, I went with this group:

scenes

So these are my starting fabrics. I’ll start making blocks soon & will post throughout the event.

Can’t wait to see what everyone else is using!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The Splendid Sampler

Leave a Reply

