#DandyDays · #Quiltmakers100Blocks · #Studio37Fabrics · Dandy Days · Marcus Fabrics · Quilting

Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 14 Blog Tour

Each time I’ve seen a Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks magazine out on newsstands, I’ve dreamed of the day my name or block might be on the cover. Well, this time, the dream came true! I’m so excited to be part of Volume 14 and to have my name right there among all the other incredible folks who contributed to this issue.

vol14-cover-500px

When I thought about designing a block for the magazine, I knew I wanted to do something unusual, something not immediately recognizable as a classic block from the past.

I’ve always loved the “Peaky and Spike” triangle unit and decided to start there. I also really like pinwheels so I wanted to incorporate that in my block too.

Here’s my block featuring my Revved Up Retro fabrics.

qm100a

By playing with the light and dark coloring of the skinny triangles, I gave this block potential for creating interesting secondary designs when it is set together. Here’s what a quilt made from the block would look like:

qm100qlta

Of course, the look will change totally when you play with color. Here’s the block colored in a few of my upcoming Dandy Days prints:

qm100dandya

See how that creates a totally different quilt?

qm100dandyqlta

As the name implies, there are 100 incredible block designs from designers you love in Volume 14. I’d love to give one away to you. Comment here and tell me what your favorite block is to be eligible for a chance to win. Entries close at  11:59 p.m. on Sunday, November 20. I’ll email the winner for his/her address on Monday 11/21.

I’m also doing giveaways on Facebook & Instagram to promote the blog hop & the magazine. Be sure to follow me there to see how to have more chances to win more prizes!

And, don’t forget to go visit the Quilty Pleasures blog for more prizes and more info on other designers who contributed to this issue!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Quiltmaker’s 100 Blocks Vol. 14 Blog Tour

  1. I’ve been on a major star block kick for a while and recently I did paper piecing for the first time with Row by Row over the summer and loved it. I love things like this where it’s many blocks by different designers and I can learn new techniques and get tips one block at a time (much easier than an entire quilt using a new technique). Lately, I’ve been wanting to do more blocks that have…patterns inside patterns?…meaning the colors break up a pinwheel from a star kind of thing, or when you put several blocks together and it makes a pattern depending on how it’s arranged, as well as the individual block patterns (hope that makes sense). To me, it’s so much fun seeing those other patterns take shape and suddenly show up.

    Like

  2. your block is fantastic! it looks so complicated. My fave block to make is flying geese…or maybe a star block because there are so many variations to play with. but the block I make the most has to be HST. hands down. love this blog hop. 🙂

    Like

  3. i REALLY love your block. In fact over at Quiltmakers blog I said it was my favorite with the colorful whimsical pointed stars….not sure they’re considered stars, but i love your block with the Revved up fabrics. Thanks for the chance to win a book.

    Like

  4. My favorite block has to be tossed nine patch. But there are delectable mountains, log cabin, lone star I like them all really, they each hhave their own challenges.

    Like

  5. I truly love this issue. I can hardly wait to try some of the awesome new blocks. Thank you for putting in so many new paper piecing blocks…Please keep putting more paper piecing blocks in future magazines…thank you….

    Like

Leave a Reply

