Uncategorized

Pat Sloan’s Mega FUN Book Tour

When Pat asked if I wanted to be part of her book tour, I took about 3 seconds to decide that the answer was “YES!” Who wouldn’t want to be part of the fun that surrounds Pat Sloan?

Then, when I actually set down and read the book, I was so glad I had agreed to participate. Teach Me to Machine Quilt is just amazing. Chock-full of tips, techniques and projects to have you quilting away right at home.

teach-me-to-machine-quilt

If you follow me, you know I am a total cat person so of course, I was immediately drawn to this project in the book:

4-my-little-kitty-quilt

It’s a perfect size to practice both your applique skills and your machine quilting skills. My friend, Dolores whipped up this version of the quilt:

patcat

You can order a kit to make this version of the kitty here.

Of course, I wanted to experiment with my own kitty but as usual, time got away from me. I did manage to draw out my own kitty with some help. Nora never met a project she didn’t want to be part of.

img_8427

And, I picked out my background fabric. My kitty is made from my upcoming Dandy Days fabric line for Marcus Fabrics.

mykitty

I’ll post a photo of the finished project when I get it pieced & quilted.

For now, be sure to go check out Pat’s blog & visit all the other designers who are part of this incredible event. On Tuesday, the line up includes:

 

Pat’s giving away tons of cool stuff so be sure to visit her & register for the prizes.

I’m giving away a box of Pat’s Aurifil thread to match her Sweet Life fabrics.

sweetlife

Enter to win by commenting on this post & telling me if you have a special “helper” that always helps with your sewing projects. You can receive additional entries by following me on Facebook and on Instagram and liking my posts about this blog tour on each of those forums.

 

 

246 thoughts on “Pat Sloan’s Mega FUN Book Tour

  1. That is so funny that you asked about our “helpers!” I was going to tell you how much I enjoyed seeing your beautiful helper while you were working on your “kitty” project. I too have some helpers. My beautiful Patches (kitty) immediately appears the instant any fabric is taken out. She, of course, has to lay right in the middle of the fabric when it is laid out on the cutting table, on my ironing board, etc. And if there is a pile a fabric anywhere, well that means there is an invitation to sleep on top of the pile whenever she wants. I wouldn’t sew any other way. She is such a beauty. And I also have a Pomeranian, Nugget, that loves to sit in my lap when I sew. It is difficult to do but I do humor him and he loves it. Helpers are just a major part of the quilting process! lol

    Like

  2. Unfortunately, I don’t have anyone to help me, I don’t even have me to help me as I’m such a newbie, I don’t know where to start! I do sew a little, but I would love to learn to quilt and this would be purrfect for me to begin with.

    Like

  3. I no longer have any studio helpers as our 3 dogs have all crossed over the rainbow bridge. Broken hearted so haven’t gotten another critter yet. Thanks for the chance to win this beautiful thread!

    Like

  4. I have 4 legged helpers in my sewing room at all times 😀 My fur babies keep me company for hours. I had 4 doggies which makes it hard to move from cutting to sewing to pressing, but I lost my 10 month old Snickers in November but Beau, Bella and Kismet are big helpers. It’s a room of love, quilting and fur babies….life is good!

    Like

  5. I have three cats, but the one who helps me the most is the calico. After checking everything out, her favorite place to nap is on the end of my ironing board.

    Like

  6. My black lab Bella is my special helper. No matter what I’m doing a cold nose is always nudging my arm. Heaven forbid if I have to lay anything out on the floor, she’s all over it wiggling and trying to play!!! Oh how I love my puppy!!!

    Like

  7. I have three quilting buddies that when we’re together we share ideas and help each other. We call each other when one of us is stuck on something. We go on road trips together to hunt down fabric. No guns needed.

    Like

  8. I don’t have a helper any more, my puppy has gone to heaven in a better place. I would love to have a cat, but my husband says no.

    Like

  9. I have more helpers than I need. My best little helper never misses anything being done in the house. He sees my husband doing something he is right there to help. If I drop anything while sewing I have to stop and find it immediately. Hammie is a cute miniature piebald dachshund who is a terrible thief. Off he goes with his precious item. A scrap of fabric, a spool of thread or a tiny piece of wood. He takes off with all and is quite happy with his finds.

    Like

  10. Yes, my helper is a cat named Roscoe. She loves to rearrange my bobbins, spools, whatever she can find that is not ‘sewed’ down. Thanks for the chance.

    Like

  11. I used to have 2 helpers, Suzy-Q and Rocco. Suzy has crossed the rainbow bridge but Rocco still keeps me company, usually sprawled out nearby when I sew.

    Like

  12. I so wish I had another helper. We had Rusty for over 10 years when we found out my husband was allergic to animals as in quits breathing. He braved it for another 10 years until Rusty went to kitty heaven. I really envy you your helper. We do have a tuxedo grand-cat who looks much like yours. We visit him often.

    Like

  13. I have too many four legged purring machines that come to give me their version of help! I leave a nice stack of folded fabric to choose from and suddenly it is the only suitable place in the room to curl up on.
    Glad to hear your working visit with Pat was so good! I met her at our quilt guild this year and she is such a sweet gal!

    Like

  14. I have a beautiful boxer named Coco Chanel that accompanies me to my sewing studio ( craft room). She lays on the rug and waits for me to bring treat and hopefully get up and take her for a walk. Thank you for the giveaway!

    Like

  15. I don’t have any animal helpers, but I do have some people helpers. They are former teachers who encourage me, shop with me and quilt with me every chance we can get.

    Like

  16. I have no one to help me quilt! I really enjoy my time in my sewing room, and really would love to learn to quilt my quilts on machine!

    Like

  17. I have a black-and-white cat, Fiona, who helps me by sitting on the quilt I’m trying to quilt on the machine. Sometimes she is kind enough to sleep on her own little quilt next to my sewing machine .

    Like

  18. I have two very large helpers. Our rescue dogs, Winnie (42 lbs) and Heywood (70 lbs). Winnie loves to lay under my sewing cabinet by my feet and sometimes on my foot pedal. Heywood is too big for that so he lays his head in my lap, or on top of my fabrics on my cabinet. They both try to get into my lap on occasion..it doesn’t go well but it’s good for a laugh.

    Like

  19. My helper is very patient with me! My big sheppard/husky mix will come and lay beside my sewing machine table whenever he wants to go out and won’t budge until I get up!

    Like

  20. My special helpers have always been my Chow Chow dogs. They are big and have lots of fur that gets into everything including my quilts. I figure their fur helps make my quilts even warmer than they would be with the material traditionally used in a quilt. A predecessor to my current dog particularly liked lime green. He never stepped on or lay on any of my quilts unless they had lime green in them…. then I only need turn my back and he would suddenly be lying on top of the lime green part of the quilt!

    Like

  21. I am a follower of your facebook page~I love the color in your cover photo here and on fb! Gorgeous! Thank you for sharing all of your lovely designs~ They are an inspiration!

    Like

  22. Yes, I have 2 quilting kitty helpers! Minkie loves to guard (sit on) the ironing board and T’Gway loves to sit right next to the sewing machine while I’m sewing! They have been with me for about 13 years and I don’t know how I would sew without them!!

    Like

  23. My helper is my kitty. Since I free-motion quilt as a business I call him my vice-president of sleep technology since he is usually sitting on my desk next to my laptop while I am quilting.

    Like

  24. I actually have 3 helpers… my French Bulldog Doby and his kitty Daisy then a new member of the family kitty MOOSE that belongs to my son… they ALL follow me into my QUILTCAVE but when they start playing to rough it’s time out for all three and they get kicked out the door.. but of course the Frenchie stays because he has his spot picked out in my reading chair where he naps quite frequently!! LOVE your little helper, looks sooo sweet!!

    Like

  25. I have two cats. One likes to help with machine sewing and the other likes to test the sleepability of the finished products.

    Like

  26. Haha! Yes, I have 2 helpers. My daughter’s cat, Pawblo Picatso likes to curl up on my projects in progress – not the ones sitting on the sofa for her…
    and my dog, Mylo, makes sure I take breaks during a quilt a thon!

    Like

  27. the person I have as a helper is my 9 yr old granddaughter. she has learned so much in the almost 2 yrs she has ben sewing, she loves our new embroidery machine too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

