#DandyDays · Quilting

2017 New Quilt Bloggers Hop

Hello! I’m so excited to be part of the 2017 New Quilt Bloggers event. I’ve been getting to know lots of other quilters and working to improve my blog over the last month. We have three fabulous hosts, each of who took responsibility for a group of us. My fearless leader is Yvonne, aka QuiltingJetGirl. I’ve stalked followed her on social media for ages so I was really excited to get a chance to work with her.

Our other hosts are Beth at Cooking Up Quilts and Leeane at She Can Quilt. Be sure you visit all the hosts and visit all of us new bloggers–there’s a chance to win some great prizes.

blmnqlt

So, on to me . . .

Some readers might recognize my name from my years of traditional quilt design, books with a Civil War emphasis, and my long-running affiliation with McCall’s Quilting and Quick Quilts. Over the years, I’ve made more than 100 quilts in a variety of styles and fabrics.  I’m currently a fabric designer with Studio 37 Fabrics, a division of Marcus Fabrics. I’m an Aurifil thread designer, pattern designer, and author. This year, I ventured into designing acrylic templates and related patterns with Paper Pieces. Watch this blog for announcements about my new acrylics and some FREE patterns in the weeks leading up to Quilt Market.

One of my favorite original quilt designs is from way back in 2007. Comforts of Home appeared in McCall’s Quilting.  I still display it on my bed from time to time.

comfortsqlt

In recent years, I’ve revisited my early love affair with batiks and with bright colors. This quilt uses my River Rock batiks. You have seen this at your local quilt shop since it was a block of the month pattern.

river rock master

I also did a version of it in my bright Radiant Reflections batiks.

radiant_reflections

When I show these two quilts at trunk shows, people are always amazed it’s the exact same pattern and block placement with such different looks created by the fabrics.

One of my newest designs that debuted at QuiltCon and is officially available for purchase is this  . . .

a_shout_a_whisper_a_textactual

It’s my first design using my new fabric line:

shouttextlogo

This line is all about communication. I’ll be back next week to tell you more about several of the prints, what they mean, and the inspiration behind them. The line is shipping to shops starting May 1. In the coming days, I’ll be able to share some fun projects using these prints that some of my friends have been working on.

For now, you can find some of my patterns here.

For my fabrics, always check with your local quilt shop first. If you can’t find them locally, I’ll have fabrics available here.

As part of our blog hop, many of us are sharing blogging tips. My best tip: take advantage of the “draft” and “schedule” features on your blog. If you’re like most quilters juggling too many things at once, it’s easy to let blogging slip down the priority list. I’ve found that if I start drafts of any posts that have a definite due date, I can then work on them a little at a time as inspiration hits. And, it’s not nearly as overwhelming as tackling a big post the night before it’s due to go up.

Scheduling posts lets me work ahead when I have breaks in my schedule and then I don’t miss important events.

Be sure to visit my fellow hive members this week:

Tami from Thrift Shop Commando @tvonzalez
Sandy from Sandy Star Designs  @sandymaxfield
Karen from Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats  @tunaquilts
Kathleen from Kathleen McMusing @kathleen_mccormick

33 thoughts on “2017 New Quilt Bloggers Hop

  1. So nice to meet you, Sarah! You do have a full basket of things to do: fabric designer, thread designer (I didn’t know there was such a thing), pattern designer and author. When do you get a chance to breathe? Lovely blog, So fresh and clean. Oh, the Dandy Drive block patterns are so cute! I just might have to make some.

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you are part of the hop, Sarah! Your tip is one of my absolute favorites and helps keep me on track and organized. Your churn dash quilt is stunning and I look forward to seeing more with your soon to be available fabric line.

    Like

  3. Hi Sarah, how fun to meet you. You are one busy lady, but it sounds like so much fun! You are so right with the drafting and scheduling tip. I’m just beginning to use that regularly and it is so much easier and less stressful.

    Like

  4. Hi Sarah! Love your new fabric line and looking forward to seeing more of it. What a pedigree you have! i loved seeing your first magazine quilt because it shows your design evolution. Nice meeting you!

    Like

  5. Lovely to “meet” you! I do recognize your name from my early quilting days 🙂 I love that churn dash in your new line, a pattern with a good secondary design is so fun!

    Like

  6. It’s nice to read about your journey and to see where you have been and are going. I really love your bright fabric and the quilt pattern you to go along with it.

    Like

  7. Hi Sarah, It is so great to learn more about you and the lovely patterns, fabric and thread you have created. I love how different the two quilts for the same pattern are. Amazing! You have a great eye for color.

    Like

  8. You are one busy quilter! I checked out your fabrics at Marcus fabrics and your new line is lovely. Texts are certainly hot these days and yours are the best I’ve seen! Congratulations!

    Like

  9. Hello Sarah! I knew I remembered your name from somewhere! Love all the quilts your design and can’t wait for your new line to release!

    Like

  10. Hello! Congrats on your 100 Blocks appearance! And that you got your name on the cover! Sounds like you’re a busy gal! Will you be at Quilt Market? Would love to say hi!

    Like

  11. Nice to meet you, Sarah! I’m sure I’ve seen your patterns in magazines; I’ll start watching out for the name. Your rainbow churn dash is really striking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

